Intel Core i9 7900x (LTT Review)

Skid_Marc_

Staff member
Admin

I always feel the need to start off a topic like this by saying;

I'm not very tech savvy.

My opinions on computer components aren't going to be super in-depth, or complex. I'm not always looking to get the max performance per dollar. My goal with my pc, and electronics in general, is to have a stable platform that handles all of what I throw at it without having to struggle. I'd rather have extra horsepower that I don't use. I don't play a lot of brand new games, and I don't do heavy content creation, but when I do actually get motivated on a project, I don't want to fight with my PC.

So I've been watching Intel, and especially the i9 news, a lot recently because, as I've posted before, I have been looking at upgrading my i7-4790k.

Upgrading to 3x: 2760 x 1440 @ 144hz G-sync monitors has been cool, but has also really taxed my machine, and although my CPU/GPU can still handle most games with little issue, streaming said games reaches (and usually, frustratingly, exceeds) the limits of my machine, dampening my enjoyment of the upgrade. I had originally been looking at the i7 Broadwell-E chips, but then the i9 was leaked, and since than I have been content to wait.

• Core Count
Duh, right? The whole point of upgrading from the chip I already have is more cores. The improvement I'm looking for isn't in gaming, as most games won't be able to take advantage of the added cores. However, the added cores would greatly improve my ability to stream and record while gaming.

The new i9 introduces, as shown in the video, a 10-core CPU at a price point lower than the current i7 10-core, and the counts go up from there from 12 to 18 cores!
  • Clock Speed