The Story of Threepaddles

The Story of Threepaddles
The Dwarven Fortress Episode 1

--This story is the story of my first proper playthrough of dwarf fortress. I'm still an extreme noob at it, and spent several hours and at least two other forts just learning basics. For those not familiar with Dwarf Fortress... it is a top-down city management game at it's most basic... but it is so much more. The game is so intricate that it weaves a story, as everything in the game is so highly detailed. The game isn't for everyone, it's default ASCII graphics (which can be replaced with tilesets as I have here) make it seem like an 80's game with a UI and control system to match. Nonetheless, it hasn't stopped it from inspiring countless games, most notably Minecraft. There are other clone-type games like DF as well, like Rim World.

For those who really want to know what the game can be like (As my first few episodes won't be that exciting, I'm sure) check out this awe-inspiring story: http://dfstories.com/the-hamlet-of-tyranny/ ... everything in the story (minus his narrative) really happened in the game. Just like everything I tell below really happened as part of the game... I didn't add anything for the sake of telling a story. These are things that happened and these are details that are fully incorporated into the game.--

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Capture.PNG

Situated on the Pleated Prairies, the fortress of Threepaddles was established in the dead of winter, at the beginning of the year 126 by seven dwarves who set out to start anew. Bearing their banner depicting three toy boats and a wave, with the wave engulfing the toy boats, the seven short creatures prepare themselves for the hard labors ahead.