Upgrade Path Help

Hey gang, I'd like to start running a certain application that shall not be named that requires 8GB RAM as the minimum requirements. My rig is X58 with triple channel memory but 3x2GB for 6GB, whoops! The i7-920 is running at 50% overclock @4.0 MHz so single core CPU performance is only down ~35% from modern CPUs...not bad for 10+ year old tech but still getting a bit long in the tooth.

My questions are:
1) Did anyone have a triple channel rig and has upgraded and now has 12GB of RAM that they would let go for a reasonable amount?
2) Between spending $63 US on new RAM or spending ~$500 on new 'guts' (CPU/RAM/Mobo+Cooler) where would you go at this point in time?

Cheers,
Ogami

Kenadian

Staff member
Site Admin
I've no experience in this to be honest so it's hard to recommend what you should consider.

The only thing I do have experience with was trying to purchase more Ram in another aged system some years back. I couldn't find Ram for anything less than $300 and given the slight performance it equated to a new build was in order.

Assuming you can even find the Ram you're looking for is it worth the slight performance advantage you may gain?

Imho, if the system is that old you won't gain anywhere near the performance regardless of what you spend as you would with upgraded tech.

@Ogami Itto you sure got a lot of life out of that OG i7 , but I don't reckon you will see any performance increase in gaming with a bit more RAM as your system as you have described it to me in the past is kind of at its limit now anyway no?

I had a quick look on amazon and excluding the graphics card , £500~ got a CPU, motherboard , 16 GB of RAM and a decent cooler and power supply.

Amazon UK and US sites normally have similar prices $ for £ so shouldn't be much different from $500 on the US site.